Showing posts with label Awards. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Awards. Show all posts

Thursday, 27 June 2013

Joe Shuster Awards 2013: Nominees

Gene Day & Harry Kremer
Art by Dave Sim
The 2013 nominees for The Joe Shuster Awards celebrating Canadian comic book creators, have just been announced. The awards will be presented at a gala ceremony in Toronto, on the evening of Saturday, August 25, 2013. Full details here...

Named after the late Howard Eugene Day (1951-1982), this award honours Canadian comic book creators or creative teams who self-published their work but did not have the books distributed by a third party such as Diamond Comic Distributors, Inc. The nominees were selected from over 40 individual publications submitted for review before the deadline of May 16th, 2013. The award winner will also receive a bursary of $500.
  • Sanya Anwar – 1001
  • Jordyn F. Bochon – The Terrible Death of Finnegan Strappe: The Claw of the Earth #1 (of 3)
  • Antonin Buisson – Tranquillement pas vite
  • James Edward Clark – Evil
  • Corey McCallum, Matthew Daley – The Pig Sleep: A Mr. Monitor Case

Named after the late Harry Kremer, original owner of Now & Then Books (in Kitchener, Ontario). The Awards Association maintains a list of active comic book stores and a database of recommendations, referrals and secret shopper reports. A separate Retailer Award Committee reviews the data and selects a short list of stores that have shown merit in a variety of categories such as:
  • Another Dimension – Calgary, AB
  • Amazing Stories – Saskatoon, SK
  • Heroes – London, ON
  • L’Imaginaire – Quebec City, QC
  • Paradise Comics – Toronto, ON

Monday, 29 April 2013

Inkwell Awards 2013: Dave Sim Nominated!

The Inkwell Awards 2013 have announced the nominees for this year's awards to honor inkers in comic books. Voting is open to everyone, whether fans or professional peers, until 30 April. The winners will be announced at the live awards ceremony at Heroes Con in Charlotte, NC 7-9 June.

The nominees for the All-In-One Award (for favorite artist known for inking his/her own pencil work) include:
David Aja (Hawkeye)
Francis Manapul (Flash, 7 Warriors)
Moritat AKA Justin Norman (All-Star Western)
Chris Samnee (Daredevil)
Dave Sim (Glamourpuss)
James Stokoe (Godzilla)
Skottie Young (Road to Oz, Dorothy & The Wizard in Oz) 

Sunday, 24 June 2012

A Defender Of Liberty

Cerebus Backcover Advert (1997)
Art by Dave Sim & Gerhard
(from a News Watch article, The Comics Journal #189, August 1996)
The Comic Book Legal Defence Fund has named Cerebus creator Dave Sim and underground legend Paul Mavrides as the first recipients of the fund's Defenders Of Liberty awards. The pair were honored at the San Diego Comic Book Expo for their efforts as industry leaders in support of free speech rights.

Mavrides - who is perhaps best known for his work on the Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers - was selected for his unyielding battle with the California State Board of Equalisation over their decision that only prose manuscripts could be considered exempt from sales tax. He finally won in court after five years of legal wrangling with the BOE that saw Mavrides devote an inordinate amount of time  to enlisting support for cartoonists.

Sim was given the honor due to his tireless and generous financial support of the CBLDF; by far the leading contributor to the fund's treasure chest, he donated more than $122,000 over the past few years, in addition to raising money for the CBLDF by selling autographs at conventions and giving away original art to be auctioned off. Sim donated his entire royalties from several projects, including the Spawn-Cerebus cross over issue.

(from the article The Comics Profession 1980-2000, The Comics Journal #220, February 2000)
Image is our next stop on the slippery slope to the deepening feeling of ennui and lethargy that has gripped the industry. Image, which wrapped itself around the Capraesque theme of the little guys vs the big, bad corporations of America, Mom and apple pie, is a flash-point in both the corruption of creator rights and the trend among professionals for mistaking money-grubbing for principle... How Frank Miller, Neil Gaiman, Alan Moore and Dave Sim could've been gulled by these idiots is beyond understanding (I'm not even sure how Miller's, Gaiman's and Moore's profiting obscenely by Image vs Sim's giving all his Image profits to the Comic Book Legal Defence Fund enters into the moral equation; does that make Sim smarter or stupider than the rest?).

Wednesday, 7 December 2011

Joe Shuster Awards 2006: Hall of Fame Acceptance Speech

Joe Shuster Portrait
Art by Dave Sim, based on a photo by Henry Mietklewicz

(Acceptance speech, 29 April 2006, as published in Following Cerebus #8)

I was at Paradise Comics a while back, and Pete Dixon swung his computer screen around and asked if I wanted to check out the Hall of Fame inductees for this year's show. I said sure, and I must admit that my first reaction when I saw my name there was to check to make sure there was only the birth year attached to it.

1956. Hyphen. Blank.

I must tell you, it came as quite as relief.

Speaking as the, so far, only living inductee into the Joe Shuster Hall of Fame, I have to say that I have four small regrets that I have preceded four individuals in doing so and ask you to help assuage my conscience by giving a nice round of applause to each of them when I read their names out.

The first is the individual most responsible for there even being a Canadian comics fandom, writer, raconteur, publisher, gadfly, and pioneer Canadian comic-store owner Captain George Henderson.

The second is my personal mentor and compatriot and collaborator back in the early days of my career, the late Howard E. 'Gene' Day.

And the third and fourth are the Canadian trail-blazers of the graphic novel, The Sacred & The Profane, one of whom is here today, and I'll ask that he stand up and take a bow, Dean Motter. And his collaborator who isn't here, of course, is Ken Steacy.

Keeping this as short as possible - bearing in mind that my Collected Letters 2004 ran 600 pages, and that only covered January through June - I will only add that I hope Gerhard is less than seven years behind me when it comes to his own induction. Cerebus certainly couldn't have been completed without him. And I'd also ask that you applaud once more if you favour the idea of inducting the Toronto Trio next year, Chester Brown, Seth, and as honorary Canadian, Joe Matt. Chester's here today. Stand up, Chet.

I quite agree. Thank you all for this signal honour, which is most unexpected and most gratefully received. There's really nothing worse than getting a Lifetime Achievement Award when you're still working - and nothing better than getting one when you're all done. 

And there's really nothing better than being all done. So, I thank you. I'm all done now.


2009: Joe Shuster Award
Outstanding Canadian Comic Book Artist - Dave Sim (Glamourpuss & Judenhass)

2006: Joe Shuster Award
Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall Of Fame - Dave Sim

2005: Joe Shuster Award
Outstanding Canadian Comic Book Achievement Award - Dave Sim & Gerhard

2004: SPACE
Lifetime Achievement Award - Dave Sim

2004: Harvey Award
Best Letterer - Dave Sim

1998: SPX Ignatz Award
Outstanding Artist - Dave Sim

1996: CBLDF
Defender Of Liberty Award - Dave Sim

1994: Eisner Award
Best Graphic Album (Reprint) for Flight - Dave Sim & Gerhard

1993: Wizard Fan Award
Best Story - Spawn #10 'Crossing Over' - script by Dave Sim

1992: Harvey Award
Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist) - Dave Sim

1987: Kirby Award
Best Black & White Series - Dave Sim

1985: Kirby Award
Best Black & White Series - Dave Sim

1981: Inkpot Award
Dave Sim